Is being the smartest person in the room getting in the way of your growth as a leader?

Mike Desjardins of ViRTUS shares some valuable advice. Enjoy the read.

Some thoughts on strategy, leadership, and corporate culture.

I can remember back to the first business I ran: I was new to a leadership role and everyday I realized how much more I didn’t know about people and how to lead. One of my key learnings was a few techniques that actually helped give me the freedom and flexibility to focus on my strengths.

It started one day when I realized that almost every customer service decision in the business had to flow through me in some way. Now of course, this helped me keep a pulse on everything that was happening with our customers but it was a trap that I slide right into. Everyone just assumed the easiest thing to do was “just check with Mike.”

Here’s what I learned: when every decision had to flow through me, no one learned and my day was filled with solving problems with no time left to focus on…

View original post 411 more words

Leave a Reply

