Making Flexible Scheduling Work

I’m writing this blog post from home today. There are a lot of aspects of my job that does not require me to be in the office. Like many employees these days, a certain amount of my work can be done online.  Although I like the flexibility my employer provides by allowing me to work from home occasionally, I do prefer to be at the office. There is that interaction with my co-workers, bouncing off ideas, and overall atmosphere and energy of what McNak is all about.

If I wasn’t at the office on a regular basis, I wouldn’t get a feel of our company’s corporate culture. However, after working at McNak for nine years, I have a pretty good idea…so working from home every now and then certainly doesn’t hurt. Working from home does not work for all professions.  I believe that I wouldn’t be an effective salesperson if I worked from home, but I’m not in sales.

The truth is, I get a lot more work done when I work remotely. No distractions. If I meet my deadlines and produce results, then I know I’m on the right track, and the flexible schedule works for both me and the company.

Companies that have open communication about a flexible schedule policy can have a successful and engaged workforce. Just keep in mind that expectations must be clear. Does your company have a policy set in place for employees who work from home?

photo: workspaces.tumblr.com
3 responses to “Making Flexible Scheduling Work

  1. Thanks for the post. It highlights some of the pros and cons attached to working flexible and remotely.

  2. Our office just started having one employee work remotely because she moved 450 miles away. Being the office manager I am totally amazed at how much more work she can finish in so little time. You are correct in certain jobs this works amazingly well and we are very glad we tried it because the cost of hiring a new employee and training them would be very high.

  3. Reblogged this on Aakash Dhanuka's Blog and commented:
    Like the title of the post.

Leave a Reply

