Eat That Frog!

Here’s the thing.
I tend to procrastinate a bit.
….but, don’t we all?

People around me marvel how organized I am, but I have a dirty little secret. I procrastinate. There, I said it.

I’m always striving to improve myself, and kick bad habits. We’ve all heard that the best way to kick a bad habit is to replace it with a good one.

I had heard of a book called Eat That Frog! – 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time – by Brian Tracy.
I didn’t hesitate to pick it up from the library, but here’s the irony of all ironies. I let that book sit on my bedside table for weeks. I was putting off reading a book about procrastination! I kept having to renew my borrowing due date with the library.

I finally started reading it yesterday, and I really like it. The idea is to identify your most important task, and do it first before you do anything else. The book is due tomorrow. I’m halfway through this quick read. I’ve learned some great points already, which I will apply to my daily life.

Tonight I will pull myself away from the computer, TV, iphone (the bad habits) and finish reading the book (the good habit) I’m determined to learn something and change my procrastinating ways.

PS – I did write this post on my iPhone – it can’t be all that bad.

4 responses to “Eat That Frog!

  1. This is a great book, I read it several years and have used it many times as a reference for lectures improving organizational skills.

    Thank you for the reminder of such a good little, easy to read book

  2. Thanks for taking the time to comment Tina. I agree, it is an easy to read good little book.

  3. Pingback: Note 338 – My blog is my frog… « My writing challenge

  4. Hi Jessica. Great post. As you know from my post earlier, it’s definitely worth having a copy in your bookshelf for reference. I just knew that there would be something in there worth referencing. I’ve been listening to Brian Tracy’s audio CDs and reading his books on and off for a couple of years now, and they are all really good.
    Sandra

Leave a Reply

